RSS Feed

My ‘beetus doesn’t like stomach bugs

Aaron & I always laugh at those Wilford Brimley commercials where he talks about his ‘dia-beet-us’!! It drives me crazy (the kind of crazy where I roll my eyes but still giggle a little). Like when my cousin still asks me if I’ve taken my ‘sugar pill’ no matter how many times I’ve told her I’m on insulin. Haha!

This weekend I remembered how much my ‘beetus does NOT like it when I’m sick. My numbers were rollercoaster-ing all weekend & I”m still having some trouble honing them in.

Being sick with diabetes is so much more work. If I’m nauseous I have to think ‘is it the high blood sugar or the bug?’ If I have crackers & sprite I have to think ‘should I do a full bolus? what if i puke later?’ Ugh!!Β  But that’s why I haven’t posted in a few days. ‘Beetus & I were fighting the stomach bug that seems to be going around our little town.

All is better now though!!! πŸ™‚ & I have some good news:

My letter to the editor that I wrote about Diabetes Awareness Month & World Diabetes Day ran in our local paper yesterday!! I’m not sure about the title they gave it but I digress. You can read my letter here!!Β  I’m so excited, I know it’s not much but it’s still helping to raise awareness about Diabetes & some of the things going on this month.

I also got my postcard out in the mail for the World Diabetes Day Postcard Exchange.

Had to represent good ol’ NC bay-bay!!! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to receive mine in the mail hopefully soon!!!

Never in my life have I been so involved in the Diabetes Community & I really wish I would have started sooner. I’m meeting a ton of great new people, getting a lot of support from people who know what I’m going through, & really feeling like I’m making a difference.Β  Even if it’s just a small one.

It’s time for me to show my diabetes whose boss.Β  I’m in control of this disease not the other way around.Β  I can show others & myself that diabetes doesn’t always have to be bad.

It appears all the bones, walking, playing with ropes & squeaky balls have left Luke in a ‘oh isn’t life as a dog hard’ pose. Because we don’t spoil him at all you know.Β  πŸ˜‰

About samanthaowen07

Hi I’m Samantha! I’m 27 years old & have had Type 1 Diabetes since March 1995. I'm the mother to 2 wonderful, healthy, beautiful little ones, and have been married to my best friend since 2007.

3 responses »

  1. Got the postcard today! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Western NC?! I’m in Durham, my husband is from Weaverville (near Asheville) and we both lived in Boone for school! We also have a crazy black lab πŸ™‚ Small world!!

    Reply
  3. Just realized I’m commenting on a 3 year old post. Oops πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

