RSS Feed

Changes are (kind of) in full force :)

So it’s no secret…I’m so ready to have a family. I’ve not been doing so good diabetes wise. I just got my HbA1C checked and it was 9.3!!! Eeeekk…that’s not a good number for a bun in the oven. Luckily though I work for a hospital & have to go see the Employee Health Nurse every 3 months. SO, she knows I want to get pregnant & also knows my HbA1c needs to be at a 6.0 to get the green light. So she’s agreed to see me every 2-3 weeks just to bring her my blood sugar logs & keep me on top of everything.
It’s been a challenge & with the company I had this weekend, I didn’t do so well, but I’ve noticed just in the past five days how much my blood sugars have come down. I actually went a whole 24 hours without any blood sugar being above 200!! A small victory but a victory none the less. 🙂

I have an app on my Ipod that lets me track my blood sugars. It will also give me a ‘trend chart’ which is a graph showing me where my blood sugars are in relation to where they need to be (which is in between to two lines). So I can’t believe I’m posting this because it’s horrible, but I need to have some accountability. So here’s my trend chart as of 5/19 or 5/20 I think. I’ll post another one on 6/1/11 when I go back to the health nurse. And I HOPE there will be a big difference in the two 🙂

    photo
    I did a 90 minute hike yesterday with my family so hopefully I’ll keep that exercise ball rolling this week. I just need to take it a day at a time, a blood sugar reading at a time, so hopefully I won’t get too overwhelmed & just throw in the towel; like I seem to always do. I know what I need to work towards & I know what I need to do. The only question is do I want it bad enough to let it light a fire under my ass. I want not only to have a healthy baby but hopefully more than one, and a healthy pregnancy & still be plenty healthy post-partum so I can be around a long long time with my husband & kid(s).
    I can do this. Diabetes…let’s dance shall we?
    About samanthaowen07

    Hi I’m Samantha! I’m 27 years old & have had Type 1 Diabetes since March 1995. I'm the mother to 2 wonderful, healthy, beautiful little ones, and have been married to my best friend since 2007.

    One response »

    1. Hi Samantha!You can TOTALLY do this. Thanks for the message – glad to have found you (will respond more soon). I'm painfully behind on all of my blog reading, but I've added you to my reader and will stop by as often as I can!All the best to you and your soon-to-be-growing family! 🙂

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

