RSS Feed

meet my new insulin pump!!!

Meet Franco my new Animas One Touch Ping insulin pump 🙂 My husband named him Franco (after the body builder Franco Columbu) for whatever reason lol. It also comes with a meter that wireless-ly communicates with the pump which we’ve dubbed Arnie (short for Arnold Schwarzenegger who is Franco’s best friend). Don’t ask, idk why we feel the need to name everything, it’s just a quirk we both have. emoticon

Anyways, I’ve had type 1 diabetes for 16 years, I was diagnosed when I was 7. I went on my first insulin pump in middle school, & my 2nd on sometime in high school when my first one started having issues. Then in 2008 I went into Diabetic Ketoacidosis (where a diabetics blood sugar gets too high for too long & the body becomes acidic, very very dangerous) twice within 6 months. Never had DKA before EVER!!! So during my 2nd hospital stay the staff decided it was my pump that was causing problems & put me back on injections.

So the past 2 years I’ve been on multiple daily injections, taking anywhere from 4-8 a day. While it does keep my blood sugars under control, it’s a little harder than on a pump & I just got tired of taking that many shots a day!!! Also, with wanting to start a family I need to keep my numbers really strict & that’s easiest with a pump!

An insulin pump is an insulin-delivering device that is the closest substitute available for your body making and delivering its own insulin. The user wears the small pump all of the time, and the device releases doses of insulin as needed. – http://www.dhmc.org/webpage.cfm

I insert a little tube with the help of a needle into my abdomen & when I take the needle out the little tube stays in & with it I’m able to give myself insulin through the pump. I get little doses constantly through the day called the ‘basal’ & when I eat or have a high blood sugar I give a ‘bolus’ or just the amount of insulin needed to cover my food or blood sugar. I change my ‘site’ which is what is attached to the little tube about every 3 days. The cartridge on the pump also holds about 3 days worth of insulin give or take.

I’m really loving being back on the pump. Yes, I’m attached to it 24 hours a day, but I can take it off when needed (i.e., shower & stuff) but the benefit way out weighs the attachment. & it’s not like it’s this HUGE thing stuck to me, it’s pretty small. Plus I’m going to buy two cases for it – one that hooks to the middle of my bra so I can carry it there, & one which is an elastic thing that goes around my thigh which will be great for dresses/skirts.

Arnie is great too! Once I check my blood sugar I can tell Arnie to bolus for it & all of a sudden Franco is lighting up giving me insulin. I don’t even have to touch my pump!!! The same goes for eating. I just tell Arnie how many carbs I ate, he does the math, & tells Franco what the dealio is. There are a ton of cool features that both my pump & meter have & I’ll probably cover those in future blogs. But one thing I love on this meter is the graph —->

The lower line is 70 & the upper is 130, which for right now is where I want all my blood sugars to fall between. That high dot up there is a 185. I like that I can get an overview of how I’m doing. emoticon

Also I had to start using a new case for my supplies. I used to use a little Elvis bag which held my insulin pens & needles but now I use this little Vera Bradley make up bag :

In here I carry Arnie, test strips, a finger pricker, extra lancets, the green thing is an extra infusion set (aka site), some syringes & an insulin pen just in case, and some alcohol swabs. It’s the perfect size!!!

Anywho, I’m REALLY excited about being back on the pump 🙂 Thanks for listening guys!!!

btw, just checked my blood sugar & it was 104!!! SaWeEeEtT!!!

About samanthaowen07

Hi I’m Samantha! I’m 27 years old & have had Type 1 Diabetes since March 1995. I'm the mother to 2 wonderful, healthy, beautiful little ones, and have been married to my best friend since 2007.

Leave a Reply

