RSS Feed

just a few more pics in my diabetic life

I’ve been doing a lot of googling today looking up diabets blogs & this & that…and I’ve found that I love looking at people’s pictures of their diabetes šŸ™‚ It makes it more relatable I guess. So I wanted to add a few more today & will hopefully keep adding them šŸ™‚

These are my infusion set scars on my belly from my pump. I’ve been off the pump for 2 years now but I will always (& proudly) carry my infusion set scars with me. they’ve faded a lot & are no longer pink, but I wouldn’t want them to be completely gone. they help tell my story about what I’ve come through with my disease.

I really want to start using the Dexcom CGM so I know if I go on that I’ll have more scars to come but you know what…I’m really okay with that šŸ™‚

This is my supplies drawer. I always keep extras on me but this is the ‘stash’. In there I have syringes, test strips, lancets, pen needles, & even my old cozmo pump šŸ™‚
If I go on the Dexcom this stash will grow a whole whole lot lol.

My glucagon is used in case my blood sugar drops too low & I have seizures. It’s kept in the fridge. I’ve only ever had to use it once & hopefully that will never be repeated; but I always make sure I have one just in case.

Lastly for now this my my humalog & lantus pens. They stay in the fridge :). My humalog is fast acting which I use for meals or high blood sugars. The lantus is long acting, it lasts 24 hours & I only take one shot a day of it. It’s basically the same thing as a basal rate in a pump.

Thanks for looking at some pictures again today. I’m definatley going to be taking some more, not all of my supplies & everything but hey I had to get the basics out of the way! Most of the rest of my ‘basic diabetes needs’ are in my Wordless Wednesday blog entry. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

About samanthaowen07

Hi Iā€™m Samantha! Iā€™m 27 years old & have had Type 1 Diabetes since March 1995. I'm the mother to 2 wonderful, healthy, beautiful little ones, and have been married to my best friend since 2007.

Leave a Reply

