RSS Feed

Step Out Diabetes Walk Charlotte, NC

Today was the Step Out Diabetes Walk in Charlotte, NC!!! 🙂 🙂 It was a blast. I walked with my husband, dad, & aunt. It was about 50 degrees out even with the sun! It was so cold, but that didn’t stop all of us from coming out & supporting this cause!!

The red hat is the ‘red strider’ hat which signifies that I’m a walker with diabetes. I also have my t-shirt for, my team captain badge, & the team Bret Michaels badge. There were over 1,000 people there and as of right now over $279,000 was raised!! Which means the fund-raising goal for the Charlotte walk was surpassed by almost $30,000!! There was a light breakfast provided, information tents, & a lot of things for kids. We did a fun warm up that included stretching & a fun dance 🙂 :). We did a 3.5 mile walk around the park & local neighborhoods.




I also got a nice pin, & there was a nice rest stop with snacks & water where I snapped a quick picture of my hubby & me. 
There was a van that would ride around & follow us walkers just in case we needed something or were having any trouble :). I’ve run two 5k’s this year & am usually near the last of the pack coming in, so when I get there not many people are there to cheer me on which makes me feel a little sad :(. So one of the things I really liked was that as we approached the finish there was a whole little crowd there who stayed until the last walker came in cheering us on & high-fiving us. It really meant a lot.
I loved this event & am hopefully going to participate in a Tour De Cure next year. I want to be an advocate for my disease, I want to get involved, and spread awareness. This event has only fueled that fire. As much as I hate crowds & got really stressed out in the beginning because of all the people that were surrounding me, I really loved the people at this event. Everyone seemed to be on the same page, knew we were all there for a good cause, & everyone was just nice and had a great time. 🙂 🙂 I can’t wait to do more for my disease!!!
 
About samanthaowen07

Hi I’m Samantha! I’m 27 years old & have had Type 1 Diabetes since March 1995. I'm the mother to 2 wonderful, healthy, beautiful little ones, and have been married to my best friend since 2007.

Leave a Reply

