RSS Feed

first post!! woo-hoo!!

New blog! While I’ll probably still post on my old one, I wanted a new one to write about diabetes, faith, & the road to pregnancy. I’ve been a type 1 diabetic for 15 years ((since I was 7)) & haven’t really been tightly controlling it until the beginning of the year. I have no signs of any complications thank the Lord, but now that hubby & I are planning to ttc in spring…I’m paranoid. If my eye twitches or the area where my kidneys are hurt, I think ‘Oh no, I’m not going to be able to have a child’.

I know it’s irrational, & I know I should have been taking care of myself better since I was first diagnosed but I can’t help but have these thoughts. It was hard as a child because I didn’t really understand the disease I had, then as a teenager after having it for so many years, & being the only one who had to go through it I rebelled against it. My a1c’s were anywhere from 8.0% to my highest at 10.7%. 

Now that I’m ready to be a mother I’ve started exercising, controlling my blood sugars, & am really trying hard to take good care of myself. My last a1c was 6.9% & I’m aiming for at least a 6.5% with my next doctors visit. At 6.9 my endo said I was in good shape to start ttc, but I want better numbers, an ok from my gyno, & an ok from my eye doctor first. I want to cover all my bases to protect me & my future baby.

I have fallen off the wagon in the past 6 weeks. Blood sugars are everywhere, eating bad, & not really exercising. I don’t know what happened but it’s like my light switch got turned off. So with starting this new blog, using http://www.sparkpeople.com, & looking at message boards//other blogs about type 1 & pregnancy, I think I’ve really found my motivation to jump full force back on that wagon.

But I don’t want to JUST concentrate on a baby. In the next 8//9 months ((planning on ttc may 2011)) I’d also like to go back to school & get my cna II, brush up on my french, really build up that savings account, buy our first house, train for a 10k & a sprint-triathlon. 

I’ve started taking prenatal vitamins, just to make sure I’m getting all the nutrients I need. I’ve started praying & reading my bible, & just trusting the Lord more which has made a huge difference in all aspects of my life. I know God won’t just make me healthy, but I pray everyday that if it be His will that come spring to bless my husband & I with a healthy pregnancy & a healthy baby. I get so worried that I’ll be told not to get pregnant, that something will go wrong when I’m pregnant, or that the baby won’t be born healthy. I know I need to leave my worries with God & not take them back from Him but it’s hard sometimes.

Anyways, can’t wait for the many more posts to this blog in the future!!

About samanthaowen07

Hi I’m Samantha! I’m 27 years old & have had Type 1 Diabetes since March 1995. I'm the mother to 2 wonderful, healthy, beautiful little ones, and have been married to my best friend since 2007.

3 responses »

  1. ttc? trying to conceive? i think this is awesome. as you found, there's so little info out there from people who are dealing with this issue. I think it's great that you're putting your personal struggles and successes out there to help another type 1 who now or will one day soon find herself in your position.So very proud of you Samantha!!

    Reply
  2. Congrats on your new blog and your dedication to your goals!I must say, though, having a baby, getting pregnant, buying a house, and training for a sprint triathlon (all things I've done with type 1), are BIG DEALS and you may want to rethink trying to all that in the next 8-9 months! Sprint triathons are great ways to take off baby weight, FYI.

    Reply
  3. Yea I know it's a lot for a short period of time lol. I just got it all in my head & wanted to get it out there. Putting goals to paper. That's a good idea though, I could save my sprint for after baby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

